Since 1970, the “Person of the Year” award has annually acknowledged two leaders, an American and a Brazilian, who have distinguished themselves in promoting closer commercial, investment, or cultural ties between the U.S. and Brazil.

The first gala dinner was held at the Plaza Hotel in Manhattan, honoring then-Finance Minister Antonio Delfim Netto and George Moore, Chairman of the Board of Citibank. With the closing of the Plaza hotel for renovation, the gala was moved to the Waldorf Astoria in 2005. The Waldorf  also closed for renovation, and in 2017 the gala moved to its current location at the American Museum of Natural History.

In 1990, the “Man of the Year” prize changed its name to “Person of the Year” (POY) award following the profound changes that had taken place in society and in the business world, and to address a new paradigm of gender equality in the workplace.

person of the year awards history

Person of the year award archives


Share This

Chamber Updates Stay connected with Chamber activities